Search GMail From The Deskbar

18 06 2007

I swear by the Deskbar applet. I swear by GMail. So lets put two and two together. Deskbar allows you to add “handlers” which are 3rd party extensions to this wonderful search utility. Here is a handler to allow Deskbar to search your GMail from within Ubuntu. Just save this script in your /home/.gnome2/deskbar-applet/handlers/ directory and it will automatically appear in your Deskbar Preferences. The script requires a little tweaking – you will need to hardcode your GMail username and password in order for it to work. At the top of the script there is a section:

GMAIL_USERNAME = ""
GMAIL_PASSWORD = ""

Which will require your attention. For a list of additional handlers click here. Another favorite Deskbar trick of mine is to integrate it with live Tracker search results. Deskbar is one of those utilities that make my daily computing, a little bit easier.

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 06 2007
Bert

Hi Sheehan!
Beautiful blog you have. Do you mind me linking from my website, http://www.ubuntuhq.com, to some of your posts, by giving the introduction and a Full-Story link?
I’m sure my readers would appreciate your articles and howto’s, and you’ll get some traffic via my site too.
Thanks in advance!

20 06 2007
syalam

Hi Bert,

I don’t mind at all if you link to my blog. Thank you for the kind comments. I noticed I have been receiving some traffic from your website actually. I even have it bookmarked for my own personal reading =).

2 09 2007
antistress

does it work with new deskbar (2.19.91) ?

5 09 2007
ProductiveLinux » Search Gmail from the Deskbar in GNOME

[…] Story: Search GMail From The Deskbar Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

14 09 2007
Nathan

Worked for me. Freakin’ awesome, man.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

