Lotus Notes is a Piece of Sh!t

30 06 2008

(ugly ass splash screen that is SO1999)

I thought Sharepoint was a headache. Welcome to Lotus Notes. If you do a google search you will see how many thousands of people think it is poorly designed software. Not only is it extremely slow, but it also defies conventional Windows UI design. As if Window’s UI wasn’t bad enough, Lotus Notes merely adds on to the problem. Search is unusable, formatting documents is difficult, and its scripting language for automation is archaic. I never realized how good Outlook is when it comes to corporate e-mail.


Actions

Information

3 responses

13 08 2008
nologo

I couldn’t disagree with you more. I ran an older version of Notes several years ago and it sucked. I also ran an older version of Outlook and it sucked more. Plus, when you upgrade Windows, you upgrade Outlook. When you upgrade Windows, you don’t upgrade Notes. Upgrade Notes every year and you’ll see what I mean. I’m running the latest version of Notes on my Linux box; they’ve gone over to Java. Works like a freakin’ charm. Fast. Lots of features. Very slick lookin. Integrates well with OpenOffice.

You like Starbucks and Outlook… you’re clearly a very confused boy.

24 08 2008
Brydon

Since I know which version of Lotus Notes you’re referring to, I will say that I don’t think it’s too bad. It’s pretty darn sluggish, but I kind of like how quickly one can make a database to store documents. Also, I like tagging my contacts as it allows me to remember what their position is and what projects they work on.

24 09 2008
Andy

I hate to admit it, but I kind of like the new version of Lotus Notes. Like Brydon says it is still slow to load but the UI is pretty sweet (probably because my company uses the integrated instant messaging, which I probably use more than email these days).

I don’t even use Outlook at home anymore (anything web based is better) but at work Notes is OK.

If you are using the old release with the funky tile things on the desktop, then I can see where you are coming from!

Leave a comment